Congress of the United States Mashington, DC 20515

August 23, 2023

The Honorable Mike Rogers Chairman Committee on Armed Services 2216 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Chairman Rogers,

As you prepare for the upcoming conference committee for the Fiscal Year 2024 National Defense Authorization Act, I urge you to include Section 11133 from the Senate version, Establishment of Higher Rates of Regularly Scheduled Overtime Pay for United States Border Patrol Agents Classified at GS-12, in the final language of the bill.

With each day of this administration, the crisis at the southern border grows more severe. Our brave Customs and Border Patrol (CBP) agents have the herculean task of standing between the overrun border and American communities. Because of the historic crisis fueled by this administration's directives to welcome migrants and maximize "lawful" pathways, Border Patrol agents are working long hours beyond the call of duty. Section 11133 is essential to ensure that our brave Border Patrol agents will be fairly compensated for every hour worked, including overtime. Furthermore, this language brings Border Patrol overtime levels into alignment with similar agencies, like Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE).

A fully funded and committed border workforce is essential to the security of our nation, and restoring this benefit, stripped from Border Patrol agents during the Obama Administration, is an essential step to regain security of our border. Too many brave Border Patrol agents are placed in dangerous situations due to this administration's border crisis. Congress has the opportunity to demonstrate to these brave agents and to the American people our commitment to a secure border and to our law enforcement agents answering the call of duty. Open border policies have consequences, and the bravest among us should be rewarded for their diligence and dedication. Other agencies have this overtime benefit, and it is well past due to restore full overtime pay to Border Patrol agents.

We thank you for your consideration of this request and for your leadership.

Sincerely,

Andy Biggs Member of Congress

W. Gregory Steube Member of Congress

Va Chanez Deffermer

Lori Chavez-DeRemer Member of Congress

Jul h.

Nick Langworthy Member of Congress

Andy Ogles Member of Congress

Eliph Crane

Eli Crane Member of Congress

Jeff Van Drew Member of Congress

CC:

Honorable Kevin McCarthy Speaker of the House U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515