Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


Congressman Andy Biggs Calls for Hearing to Examine Calls to ‘Defund the Police’ and Corresponding Increase in Violent Crime

June 16, 2021
Press Release

Today, Congressman Andy Biggs, Ranking Member on Subcommitte on Crime, Terrorism, and Homeland Security, along with his Republican colleagues on the subcommittee, sent a letter to Chair Sheila Jackson Lee urging her to examine the dangerous calls to “defund the police” and the corresponding increase in violent crime in American cities. 

“Violent crime is exploding in cities across America that have defunded the police. These Democrat-run cities have maliciously attacked and smeared our police forces, but can’t understand why our officers are leaving the field in droves and why crime rates continue to sky-rocket. We must defend the thin blue line and restore law and order by holding the Democrats accountable for this destructive agenda.”

Excerpts from the letter:

“The reckless decisions to defund police forces—and the Biden administration’s apathy towards these actions—have had a real effect on American communities. Homicides have increased in many of the cities that have defunded their police forces.”

“The defund the police movement has led to a decrease in officer retention rates for police departments. In police departments across the country, veteran officers are opting for early retirement and departments are failing to attract new officers.”

“Republicans have condemned violence and been united against radical calls to defund the police.  However, many Democrats, including several on this Committee, have expressed support for defunding police forces.” 

“We ask that you schedule a hearing in the near future to allow Subcommittee Members to hear from law enforcement and civic leaders about how the increase in violent crime attributable to defunding of police”

Co-signers: Congressman Jim Jordan (OH-04), Congressman Steve Chabot (OH-01), Congressman Louie Gohmert (TX-01), Congressman Greg Steube (FL-17), Congressman Tom Tiffany (WI-07), Congressman Thomas Massie (KY-04), Congresswoman Victoria Spartz (IN-05), Congressman Scott Fitzgerald (WI-05), and Congressman Burgess Owens (UT-04). 

Read the full letter here.