Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


Congressman Andy Biggs Reintroduces National Debt Resolution

May 20, 2021
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Today, Congressman Andy Biggs introduced a resolution recognizing the national debt as a threat to national security. His resolution recognizes that deficits are unsustainable, irresponsible, and dangerous and calls on the House of Representatives to restoring regular order in the appropriations process and to commit to addressing the fiscal crisis faced by the United States.

“I first introduced this resolution in 2018, arguing our $21 trillion debt was a threat to our national security. Yet Congress has failed to take any meaningful action to curb its spending addiction and has since added an additional $7 trillion dollars to our debt. $7 trillion in 3 years. That works out to more than $21,000 for every American citizen. And yet, just today, the House passed a bill to spend an additional $1.9 billion on Capitol security without bothering to find any savings to offset that spending. Our current actions are unsustainable, and I fear will be our demise. I hope this resolution sheds some light on the size of our debt and what it means for every American. I will continue fighting in Congress to push back on unnecessary federal spending and working towards balancing the federal budget.”Congressman Andy Biggs

The resolution has 26 cosponsors: Rep. Brian Mast (FL-18), Rep. Glenn Grothman (WI-06), Rep Warren Davidson (OH-08), Rep Michael Cloud (TX-27), Rep. Dan Newhouse (WA-04), Rep. Jody Hice (GA-10), Rep. Mo Brooks (AL-05), Rep. Ted Budd (NC-13), Rep. Ken Buck (CO-04), Rep. Scott DesJarlais (TN-04), Rep. Kevin Hern (OK-01), Rep. David Rouzer (NC-07), Rep. Scott Perry (PA-10), Rep. Tom McClintock (CA-04), Rep. Gary Palmer (AL-06), Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene (GA-14), Rep. Nancy Mace (SC-01), Rep. Alex Mooney (WV-02), Rep. Ben Cline (VA-06), Rep. Randy Weber (TX-14), Rep. Tom Emmer (MN-06), Rep. Paul Gosar (AZ-04), Rep. Debbie Lesko (AZ-08), Rep. Louie Gohmert (TX-01), Rep. Matt Gaetz (FL-01), Rep. Dan Bishop (NC-09)    

You can view the bill text here.